Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

12/17/2021

"Heart Bleeds" is the latest adventure from Independent artist KOZA

 

Independent songwriter and recording artist Koza is someone destined to be at the top of your playlist from this moment on. Inspired by the likes of ethereal artists Kate Bush & Fleetwood Mac, Koza is an artist with a clear vision that believes in the power of dreaming, the power of love and real connections. Hearing this throughout her music, Koza is on a mission to inspire dreams and empower everyone to embrace the power in vulnerability. 


Speaking about her new release, Koza shares, “Heart Bleeds is about not shying away from relishing in the nostalgia of a love that makes you feel alive. It’s an ode to the kind of love that is beyond time, togetherness or separation, and the sole beauty of it irreverently changing you.”

“The creative process spanned from the start of my journey in London to travels through my hometown of Istanbul, encompassing both the girl in love with love, and the woman I am now; unafraid and enamoured,” adds Koza.

Pennsylvania based artist Kevin Whitaker is back with energetic track 'Part of Me'


Kevin Whitaker resides in Pennsylvania and is a singer-songwriter with layers of character. Creating energetic music with ounces of star-quality throughout its arrangements, he has had a great interest and enthusiasm for music from a young age. Strongly influenced by the euro-pop movement, Kevin’s vocals are mysterious, raspy and full of emotion. 

Speaking about his new release, Kevin shares, “After winning an internal battle with myself, ‘Part of Me’ was winning the battle of negative thoughts. It’s also about cutting out the toxic relationships and finding me - a part of me that I love.”


Standing for compassion and always dreaming, Kevin Whitaker is a relatable songwriter that creates music best described as infectiously effortless. Armed with a broad range of inspirations, Kevin gains influence from everywhere including the hard metal scene to the 80s pop era. Adding to this statement, the songwriter shares, “I wanted to bring a sound that the 80s had, but with large powerful writing that hits.”


Musically endearing and captivating, ‘Part of Me’ will instantly become a part of your daily routine and become your daily drug. Bathed in bewitching vocals and one hell of a production, Kevin wrote, recorded and produced everything on the track.

11/15/2021

WHO SHOT SCOTT unveils an inspiring story in new single 'Love We'll Never Know'

 

Armed with an inspiring story that lies within the upbringing and heartbreak of the man behind WHO SHOT SCOTT, the experimental hip-hop artist has certainly been through trials and turbulence. Fleeing Iraq in the arms of his mother when he was 2 years old, they were forced to journey to Moscow due to the dangers in his home country. After time in the Russian capital, they packed their belongings and travelled to New Zealand. Meeting and finding comfort in a friend at the age of 8, their shared love for hip-hop resulted in an internationally performing duo with big visions for the future. In 2019 however, his partner, citing new-found religious belief, abruptly announced he will no longer make music, moved overseas and left his closest friend with no goodbye. After some gruelling months, experimental hip-hop artist WHO SHOT SCOTT was born from the ashes of that personal and professional apocalypse.


Returning with the pivot sound of ‘Love We’ll Never Know’, the track is taken from WHO SHOT SCOTT’S forthcoming EP ‘Mercy II’. Staying true to his philosophy of writing lyrics from deeply personal experiences, WSS brings us into his world and tells the tale of a mental battle he fought while trying to see the potential in a toxic and abusive relationship, rather than seeing it for what it truly was.

Speaking on what the song unveiled about himself WSS Shares with us: “Vulnerability has always been at the forefront of my creative philosophy, whether it be my lyrical content or within my music production, I always strive to be brave and express my inner emotions as accurately as possible through my music. At the time of writing this song, I was dealing with the remnants of post-traumatic stress caused by an abusive relationship from my past. I was in a seriously bad place mentally and finally came to the realisation that I wasn't ever truly in love with this person, but instead, infatuated by the potential of the relationship getting better. I'm very blessed to say that I eventually got out of that situation safely, but the manipulation definitely had some long-lasting effects on me than I would have liked it too. For me - this song is my closure, this is me telling myself that what happened was not my fault and doesn't define me or my future. I was just seeing a love that wasn't truly there.”

Alternative hip-hop at its finest, “Love We’ll Never Know” could give artists such as Tyler the Creator, MF-Doom and Kanye West a run for their money. 

2/01/2017

Instrumental New Age/World Review: Al Conti-Mystic

Label: Shadowside Music
Release Date: October 7, 2016 
People that record new age music are a closely-knit family from around the world. If you do not know someone and you are involved in the genre in some fashion, you will come to know them eventually.

With that spirit of fellowship and a common bond, great music is then created.
Late last year, Al Conti released an extremely successful recording. Mystic arrived to the delight of people in the music business and fans alike.

The multitalented Mr. Conti and friends such as Jeff Pearce (electric guitar), Pamela Copus (harps), Charlee Brooks (vocals) and Ricky Kej (associate producer) add their magical talents to the mix.

The compositions feature chant, udu, hurdy gurdy, cittern, lutes, violins, and electric guitars. The cinematic tracks and their multitude of energies and sound sweep you away. Picture the wind that takes away the sands from the desert floor. And in a literal sense, as if you are somewhere in the Middle East taking a musical magic carpet ride through the beginning of time and civilization. Just listen and ride the waves of music that surround you and then you are instantly there.

The opening tittle track “Mystic” is a door opener into a different world and the anticipation of “Ritual” brings thoughts of ancient people paying tribute to their gods and idols as you await a ceremony in your mind’s eye.

If you happen to enjoy consistency in a thematic and musical sense and enjoy listening for those two elements colliding to form beauty, then listen closely.  Mystic will excite you, soothe your soul and take on an adventure of your own design. The music makes all this unfold before you and then your mind, body and spirit indulge it to lead the way, and that it does.

Mystic is more than befitting its name, it is art and poetry in motion. The music cycles through your being and transports you far away from inside your own mind to a different spiritual plane. Music the great healer, is on awesome display on this recording. I loved every minute of it.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
January 30, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
1. Mystic
2. Trance
3. Prayer
4. Visions
5. Pilgrimage
6. Contemplation
7. Ritual
8. Devotion
9. Anima Aeterna


7/22/2016

Music For Radura 'Life Is A State Of Mind' Review


'Life is a State of Mind' is an extremely meditative piece that I found myself drifting into an alternate state. It's rare that a piece of music can have such an effect on someone when it is not specifically for that purpose. Continuing on with the dominant string parts the track features reverberant percussion and a deep sombre overall vibe. 

Music for Radura is out now
Links:

Daisy And The Dark - Review



'Circus' is a perfect example of the juxtaposition of emotions that music can express all at once. In this case it's her soft vocal tone describing a high energy and overwhelming circus atmosphere whilst a luscious production lays underneath her. The combination of these things lead to a dreamy and almost meditative state of mind whilst you listen.

Stream lead single ‘Circus’ here:


Links:

6/10/2016

The Fresh And Enlightening Psychedelic Inspired Sound Of Young Malak Is Sure To Make Waves On Te Scene

Watch the video here:

Young Malak's music is an honest rendition of how accurately music expresses an artist's personality and experiences. Reminiscent of the sounds of Tyler the Creator, Earl Sweatshirt, Flatbush Zombies and Joey Badass, The Virginia Beach phenomenon expertly communicates his experiences of self discovery after having a severe phase of writers block and self disbelief. The outpouring of emotions embedded into the mixtape are sure to make you experience thoughts and feelings that you never felt music could evoke inside of you.
Young Malak talks about his lyrics: ‘One point in my life I was lost stuck trying to figure myself out as well as my self-purpose and the more I searched inside myself I began to overtime breakdown my thoughts and feelings to help me remember me. The more you understand your own self the more you will understand this world, and if you can understand this world you realise everything in the universe is one.’

His performance at the Shaggfest of 2015 communicated his message through his performance and we urge you to see him perform live.
Young Malak is a personification of passion, with activities other than music including spinning poi fire, meditating, enjoying nature, reading spiritual books and indulging in the creative benefits of THC from the well known herb oregano.

Media Links:



6/03/2016

The Colossal Heads Prepare For Colossal New EP ‘Mammoths’


Revelling in the heavier side of indie rock, The Colossal Heads are a group on the rise who have been compared to artists such as Queens of the Stone Age, Incubus, Modest Mouse and Nirvana. These are not bands whose names should be taken lightly in terms of comparison – thankfully The Colossal Heads do them justice.

Those bands rose in the 90’s and early 2000’s due to a rock genre that had gone from being anti-establishment to part of the norm. In recent years the cycle has started again, and The Colossal Heads are here to shake things up once more. To offer further proof, check out the album lead track ‘Mammoths’.



Engineered by Louis Cressy, the EP (and single) are a timely reminder of the power that rock music can have.

Another vital part of any musical success is a propensity for hard work, an area in which The Colossal Heads excel almost as much as their song writing. In a prime example, they toured from New Orleans to California from May-June 2015, living out of their Toyota and sleeping on floors along the way. This grass roots approach carries over to their methods of promotion as well. Relying on Facebook, local radio and word of mouth, the band has continued to develop and grow their fan base as their music has become increasingly assured.
‘Mammoths’ is the final result of this evolution, an EP which steps outside of the box and shows how complacent rock music has become in recent times.

Check out The Colossal Heads performing on a heli pad in New Orleans on Balcony TV:
Links:


KMF - 'Young You' Review

The unique and deeply musically rooted sound of KMF has the artistic bond to make you want to jump into the crowds of even the muddiest of the summer festivals of 2016. Their new single "Young You", out now, features a captivating introductory piano that instantly puts you in the uplifting summery mood. The track is exactly what everyone needs after the gloomy weather of the winter months and gets you eager to put your shades on and sit in the sun  sipping your favourite beverage.
KMF has a sound for all boasting a plethora of performance venues such as Melt!   festival in Norway, Montreux Jazz Festival all the way over to Southern America and  Mexico.

‘Young You’ is out now and is to appear on the group’s upcoming self-titled album KMF set for release June 3rd.

Watch the video here:

Links:

3/24/2016

Orca New Album 'Universe' Review


Alternative metal band, Orca, are releasing their hard hitting album ‘Universe’ and it has us in awe. Their music gracefully twists and dives through a unique blend of heavy riffs with disarming melodies, soulful atmospheres and an edge of prog.



 ‘Amber’ starts the album off with foreboding sounds which draws you in before the heavy rhythms kick in hard. The fact that this album is self- produced shows the skills of these musicians as the track are beautifully layered, really transporting the listener into the stars with the band.

The strident metal sound of the band is contrasted well by vocalist Chris Edwards’ Jeff Buckley sounding voice that guides the album along. The band have live dates in London that are by the sound of the album- bound to be a real experience not worth missing.


The single ‘Aquarium’ is out now from the album Universe out April 1st
LINKS:

Upcoming gig dates for 2016:

April 1st - Rigger Stoke-on-Trent
April 8th - Barfly, London
April 18th - Surya King's Cross, London

3/18/2016

Marcus Nand Album Review



After recording guitar solo for Rod Stewart, Marcus Nand is back with own solo album ‘Time And Tide Wait For No Man’. With sweeping melodies and delicate guitar rhythms this album whisks you along into whichever land Marcus is venturing to this time.

The title track offers Marcus’ heartfelt thoughts and reflections on life, luck and love which, as commented on by Rami Jaffee (Foo Fighters), is performed ‘in an honest way, which is rare these days’.  Marcus brilliantly mixes this in an uplifting way, allowing you to be taken with the melody.

Listening to the album, you can hear Marcus’ mixed influences being drawn upon. The track ‘Everything’ features beautifully intricate flamenco guitar work which fits perfectly with the passionate vocals. The eerie track ‘You Become My World’ reveals another side to Marcus Nand’s eclectic album with Indian influences being prevalent here. In fact, the album gives you an insight into the man behind the music; with travelling, motorcycling and sailing being his passions, the songs definitely create the feeling of enjoying the journey of life. 


Overall this album is a heartening, as well as catchy, performance of Marcus’ skills in both songwriting but most strikingly, in his pure talent as an experienced musician. 


The album ‘Time And Tide Wait For No Man’ is out on 22nd April 2016

Links:

3/11/2016

Parisian Boogie Merchant Lord Funk Releases 'Global Warming'





Today based in Paris, Lord Funk at one time was the supplier and the salesman of records and official samples to some of the biggest producers of electro and hiphop in the world including everyone from, Fat Boy Slim, Kenny Dope, Warren G, DJ Spinna, The Beatnuts, DJ Muggs, Clark Kent, Towa Tei, DJ Vadim, Lord Finesse & BuckWild, Bob Sinclar, Pete Rock, Kruder and Dorfmeister, Q Tip, Eagon and many more.  
The new album is a cornucopia of mid 80s sounds, including Disco, Hip Hop, Rare Groove, Deep Boogie and foot-tapping funk. Set for release on 25th March, the album will be available digitally and on vinyl.
'Global Warming' can be heard here:

https://www.facebook.com/lordfunkparis/?fref=ts





2/12/2016

Healthy Junkies’ Album ‘Box Of Chaos’ Review



Healthy Junkies’ new album ‘Box Of Chaos’ is an energetic blast of punk perfection. With this record the Londoner rock band has kicked off the year 2016 in style and full of social commentary. Shouting the lines “You’re such a hypocrite, I really hate you” in the dynamic track ‘Hypocrite’ reminds on early Nirvana takes with a rawness that is most endearing and powerfully honest. Another favourite is ‘Rebellion’, a song with Phil doing the lead vocals. Underlined by vocal harmonies and a determined melodic progression the track is a straight up cry for resistance towards oppression from government and whoever else might be in the way of our personal freedom. The feeling of oppression also comes across in a more sentimental way in the last song ‘Captive’. All in all, ‘Box Of Chaos’ is a well rounded piece of work.

Dates:

17th March @ Lady Luck, Canterbury
2nd July Rebellion bar, Manchester


Links:

12/16/2015

Neil C Young 'Trio' Review



Neil C Young’s newest EP ‘Trio’ is a record that will please both Jazz fans and general music lovers alike. The man, whose name is easily confused with you-know-who, is a true explorer of modern Jazz guitar. Trio is a salute to the fusion of soul, rhythm and progressive guitar rock.

A personal highlight is the song ‘Aguas Calientes’ which evokes the freshness and dynamic that’s usually at the very heart of Jazz. It’s a funky, upbeat track that is underlined by a smooth vibe which gets you into the groove.

The EP is out January 22nd

Listen here:

Links:

11/19/2015

Reole - ‘What’s Cookin’ Review



Ex pirate radio DJ, chef, record label owner, musician and American Football lover Reole returns with ‘Whats Cookin’ the stunning follow up to ‘Hear Comes The Drums’. Reole started his musical life playing brass in Mardi Gras parades. Later, once back in Scotland, he then set about the airwaves with Ritchie Ruftone on pirate radio and pioneered the introduction of illicit underground broadcasting across Europe – from Scotland, Germany and beyond.
His new album marries delicious recipes with fantastic music. Influenced by soul and RnB this album is super catchy and uplifting. The album features lead track ‘Got Your Back Girl’ a smooth funk hit that packs a punch.

‘What’s Cookin’ is sure to set ears twitching and tummy’s rumbling everywhere with its blend of instrumental funk, jazz and classic rock. It’s an album with subtle touches and fantastic production.



For more information on Reole check him out below:


10/08/2015

Warme New Single Council House Opera - Review



‘Council House Opera’ is the latest single from Bradford 5 piece Warme. Taking influence from classic guitar music such as The Kinks, The Beatles and The Rolling Stones, Warme craft bespoke, gritty rock stepped in personal experience and close friendship.



‘Council House Opera’ is a dynamic track borrowing equally from 60s rock and roll and the 90s Brit pop movement with Oasis and The Stone Roses as obvious contributors to the Warme sound. The video was shot in their hometown of Bradford, a Northern stronghold with not much music scene but Warme have taken the lack of surrounding influences and built a fantastic repertoire from nothing.

Warme are set to release the single on October 23rdwith a string of live dates in the New Year.

Check them out below:



https://soundcloud.com/warmeukofficial

9/18/2015

The Lightness Of Being - 'Movements' EP



The Lightness of Being are bucking trends with their anarchic take on already established genres in their latest EP Movements. ‘Movements’ is a fantastic release featuring hard hitting songs ‘Disappearing Act’, ‘Cat Eyes’ and ‘Unknown.’

This is not the slickest release you will hear this year but it certainly one of the best. The seamless blend of rock, grunge and metal makes for fantastic listening no matter what mood you are in.

The Lightness of Being have already been backed by big names in the music industry – they have worked with The Breeders’ engineer Nick Trepka, played with up-and-coming blues rock band Graveltones, and have headlined venues around London. And with the release of ‘Movements’they’re bound to turn even more heads in 2015.


Check them out here:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheLightnessOfBeing

6/16/2015

“Walking Underwater Pt 2” By Johnny Wore Black



“Walking Underwater Pt 2” is the latest full length release by the dark and brooding Johnny Wore Black. JWB has utilised the talents of producer David Bottrill (Stone Sour) and Megadeath bassist David Ellefson in crafting this album and their talents really shine through. The release is an interesting mix of metal and prog intertwined with alternative rock which is testament to the eclectic tastes of its creator.

The album comprises of singles “A Cut Above”, “A Gift of Desperation” and “Noise” and 7 brand new tracks. All the tracks are relatively similar in nature with soaring distorted vocals rising above driving guitars and crushing bass lines. The opening track Firefly sets the tone for the rest of the album. The continual pounding of the lower frequencies gives a warm cushion from where to explore. Fallen Angels has an almost metal like quality to it, something that prevails throughout the rest of the album. The standout out song of the release is without a doubt “Comfy Slippers.” Reverb laced vocals and guitars give an almost ethereal quality to the track which leads on to majestic power chords. The faultless combination of thought provoking lyrics and musical hooks make this track in particular, irresistible.

The release as a whole is confident and beautifully produced. Sonically, it assaults the senses leaving the listener feeling both drained and reinvigorated at the same time. It is an acquired taste musically but offers all the essentials of great rock music; hard hitting, driving songs with fantastic lyrics.

Watch the video for 'Comfy Slippers' here: 



“Walking Underwater Pt “  is available worldwide now - 

Twitter: @johnnyworeblack




9/25/2013

Pop Review: Woody Russell-Delicious Days

Artist: Woody Russell
Title: Delicious Days
Genre: Pop
Label: Cuts Music Group
Website
Product Link
Source Link

I listened to it four times before I even put my shovel in the dirt. Having heard most of his previous work, I thought I was familiar with Woody. His last vocal album, Up Against It, was a classic Texas blues and soul masterpiece that I still listen to on a regular basis. But, Delicious Days is an entirely new level on the house that Woody built and it sounds like a man who has truly found his sweet spot...READ MORE...

10/27/2007

Heart-Dreamboat Annie Live Review

Artist: Heart
Title: Dreamboat Annie Live
Genre: Classic Rock
Label: Shout Factory
Website
Amazon Link for the DVD

Amazon Link for the CD

Source Link

My first instinct, upon receiving Dreamboat Annie Live for review, was to dig through my record collection and give the original Dreamboat Annie a spin. Released in 1976 by Canada’s Mushroom Records, Dreamboat Annie is a great album and a must have for any rock enthusiast. Heart, at that time, was a group of musicians who clearly loved rock-n-roll, and their debut album has influences from just about every seminal rock band that came along before it, while at the same time being totally fresh and original...READ MORE...