Showing posts with label Music Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Music Review. Show all posts

10/29/2021

Northeast based duo PSiMiTAR reveal vibrant release 'Better Believe It'

 


Northeast based duo PSiMiTAR return with the new contender ‘Better Believe It’. Composed of producer/rapper Steesh aka Baron Von Alias, and vocalist & DJ, LKP, they’ve been putting out their unique take on UK hip-hop soul under this alias since 2020. Receiving praise from BBC Radio 1, Grammy award-winning Brasstracks, BBC Introducing and Narc Magazine to name a few, the duo has had tens of thousands of streams and support from DJs across the globe. Back with the astonishing new single, ‘Better Believe It’ sounds somewhere between the grooves of Tom Misch and the style of Anderson .Paak.


Speaking about their new release, the duo share, “Better Believe is about the little voice in your “head that tells you to never give up, and how we have to have self-belief to succeed at anything.”

Dedicated to self-belief and finding your feet, ‘Better Believe It’ comes across as entirely empowering and able to give anyone a well-needed serotonin boost. Jam-packed with a range of live instruments, the track includes a talk-box, skilful melodic bars from rapper Steesh and soulful R&B vocals from LKP that will leave you with goosebumps. Already receiving great support from Nick Roberts and Lee Hawthorn at BBC Introducing in North East and Yorkshire, HyperTribe and Wayne C McDonald's key tastemaker Sugar Radio show, it’s safe to say, the track is becoming the talk of the town.

9/09/2018

New Age/Classical/Ambient Review: Karen Olson-SongPath

Release Date: July 13th, 2018
Label: Soundview Records

SongPath is Karen Olson's 8th CD release and is a companion to her soon to be published book entitled, SoundPath: Using the Power of Sound and Silence for Health, Harmony, and Happiness. Notably, SongPath is in the top 10 on four Billboard charts including Classical and #3 as the Highest-Ranking Debut New Age Album so far in 2018.

According to Karen’s website:  She combines her unique background as a Violist, Recording Artist, Composer, Author, and intuitive Holistic Healer, to make a positive difference in the lives of others through interactive programming, events, and concert performances that are fun, inspiring, and transformative.
Karen Olson is a respected healer, practitioner, and musician. With SongPath she adds to her already incredibly impressive resume of releases and has reached the pinnacle (thus far) of her musical achievements for variety, depth, and healing. 

I think after listening to her latest offering I can agree with that statement. I covered A Hero’s Journey in 2016 and was quite impressed. It is nice to find out 2 years later that I feel the same about her music. 

SongPath is very wide-ranging. One of the tracks that caught me completely off guard was “New Ways.” It is an electronic-R&B- rap style song. I think it was titled appropriately considering I never expected to hear such a big change in direction on this album. Olivia Meihofer provides the excellent vocals as she does on other songs as well. I give Karen credit for stretching out musically and taking a chance. I enjoyed the song because it was so different and done very well. I imagine there will be new age fans that will probably not appreciate it but that is ok. All the rest of the album is more along the lines of what you would expect from Karen.

With her “New Ways” you will find “Inspiration” and “Serenity” and an “Adventure” inside the music. All of that is wrapped in a nice package for the prospective listener. 

Personally, if I can find pleasure in any type of music, it is healing. It doesn’t necessarily have to have a certain tag on it for it to work, but that is for me. In this case, the label of new age, classical and ambient certainly fits. What you will discover is joy, healing and quite a range of sounds and styles that would satisfy any musical palette. 

SongPath is a prolific release from my viewpoint mainly based on the fact the lead instrument is a viola. That my music loving friends is not an easy task to accomplish, yet Karen Olson makes it sound like it is all very natural, with very concise musicianship and a flow that syncs with your inner voice and soul.  That covers it all as far as I am concerned.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
September 9, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
1. Ever Peace
2. Why Not
3. Adventure
4. Moving Higher
5. Reminding
6. Inspiration
7. New Ways
8. Gaining Grace
9. Serenity

 

2/02/2017

Ginny Vee Releases New Single 'Give Me Dynamite'




Italian born singer Ginny Vee releases dance pop anthem ‘Give Me Dynamite’ after being spotted by former LA producer Christian DeWaldenwho set her up with Vanni Giorgilli and Pete Chiesa at Mind The Floor. The infectious single has a Northern European house sound, with a feel good style featuring Vee’s raw clear vocals. The upbeat single was arranged by Steve Manovski (co producer and co writer of Sigala’s hit single ‘Give Me Your Love’). It was recently taken to the Amsterdam Dance Event where it was immediately snapped up by Disco:Wax (Sony).

Listen here to 'Give Me Dynamite'

It’s been a tough road for Ginny, with her family often suggesting she “get a secure job” any time she spoke of a career in music. Firstly Vee went law school but she soon left to follow her passion and joined a creative arts school. She then worked as a model and travelled to LA where she pursued an acting career, working on set with Michael Rooker. However Ginny’s passion was always singing and the cover group Belle Ma Belle was formed where she has worked alongside some of the biggest names in the Italian music industry. After a few years she made the break from the group and headed in her own direction.


Links:

Ginny Vee Releases ‘Give Me Dynamite’ After Being Snapped Up By Disco:Wax – Sony Music



Italian born singer Ginny Vee releases dance pop anthem ‘Give Me Dynamite’ after being spotted by former LA producer Christian DeWalden who set her up with Vanni Giorgilli and Pete Chiesa at Mind The Floor. The infectious single has a Northern European house sound, with a feel good style featuring Vee’s raw clear vocals. The upbeat single was arranged by Steve Manovski (co producer and co writer of Sigala’s hit single ‘Give Me Your Love’). It was recently taken to the Amsterdam Dance Event where it was immediately snapped up by Disco:Wax (Sony).

Listen here to 'Give Me Dynamite'

It’s been a tough road for Ginny, with her family often suggesting she “get a secure job” any time she spoke of a career in music. Firstly Vee went law school but she soon left to follow her passion and joined a creative arts school. She then worked as a model and travelled to LA where she pursued an acting career, working on set with Michael Rooker. However Ginny’s passion was always singing and the cover group Belle Ma Belle was formed where she has worked alongside some of the biggest names in the Italian music industry. After a few years she made the break from the group and headed in her own direction.


Links:

1/06/2017

Corinna Jane Releases Feisty Single ‘Three Faces Of You’


“Corinna Jane is a seriously talented young woman, with strong
vocal ability, who is also a mighty fine instrumentalist.” – Tom Robinson BBC Radio 6




Franco-British singer-songwriter Corinna Jane brings back the ethos of old school pop music with her new single ‘Three Faces Of You’ taken from her upcoming EP ‘Hard In Love’.

Watch ‘Three Faces Of You’ live here:


Fed on a diet of 90s MTV, Corinna had a passion for music from a young age. By the age of five she had taken up piano and singing lessons, soon composing her own music and establishing herself as a sing-songwriter in her teens.

Corinna has never been afraid of being herself, crafting her own unique brand of piano driven alternative rock. The keen actress, model and radio presenter has a quirky style and personality, which has led to her receiving airplay on the likes of BBC Radio 6, Amazing Radio and BBC Introducing and making the top 5 solo artists at the Rock The House Competition.

‘Three Faces Of You’ follows the fascinating story of Corinna’s relationship with someone who lived in their own fantasy world with various personalities residing in him. The feisty song is mirrored in Corinna Jane and her band’s performance, which has strong resemblance of the powerhouse of Fleetwood Mac and No Doubt.

Having supported Leddra Chapman and been a guest vocalist/co-writer with German DJ Mark-Oh, it’s clear Corinna is ready to take the music industry by storm.

Links:


9/29/2016

New Video Release - Ashely Iona - 'Thunder Come'



New video 'Thunder Come' by rising pop star Ashley Iona

Combining a compelling ear for storytelling and a mesmerising vocal tone, Ashley Iona comes through with a fresh sound comparable to the likes of Florence and the Machine, Sia and Chet Faker. Currently based in Los Angeles, she has previously lived in countries across the globe from Australia to the UK to Uganda and moved more than 20 times in her life. 

“I wanted the video to be a journey – explains Ashley – I wrote the song when I was coming to terms with where my life was and I had this urge to be brutally honest with myself. It also coincided with 3 days of Thunderstorms in LA, which never happens.

Rain can be really cathartic, especially when you’re not used to it, so when I was thinking about the video I wanted it to be very tied up with nature to give the audience a similar feeling.
I saw some of Alex’s artwork at a friend’s house and got in touch with him to see if we could make something like an ‘otherworldly journey’…”

She adds: “We used light orbs rolling their way through spaces and put the viewer within the camera frame. We made the environments familiar but also completely fabricated and unique, because it’s landscape that’s meant to exist in your mind.


At the end of the journey the orbs return to the same structure that was once in a barren desert, because sometimes the biggest challenges we face are what inevitably make us richer people and force us to know ourselves from the inside out. I’d love to do a real life version of this video some time.”

Watch the video for 'Thunder Come' here:
Links:






Intimate New EP Ibrahim From The Great Divide


New-Zealand-born, London-based film composer Gerald Clark (aka The Great Divide) teams up with an eclectic mix of artists, including the legendary Robert Wyatt, to bring this impressive and intimate new EP Ibrahim.

The EP’s three pensive and melancholic tracks each explore the feeling of being caught up between the ‘old world’ to and the new, feeling a loyalty to the traditions of the past, but unable to fully embrace the value system of the present.

The record features a guest appearance from iconic progressive rock vocalist Robert Wyatt, who sings and contributes tenor horn on the title track ‘Ibrahim’.

As Gerald explains: ‘Robert liked a jazz album I made 3 years ago. He gave it as one of his ‘albums of 2013’ in an interview. I frequently hear his voice in my head when I’m writing, so I wrote to him and asked if he’d consider it and fortunately he did.’

A future full-length album is in the works, set to include performances from other well-established names including esteemed trumpet virtuoso Byron Wallen, guitarist Neil Taylor (who has worked with the likes of Tears for Fears, Robbie Williams and Chris De Burgh), jazz composer Alex Roth (who has worked with Alice Zawadski and contributes guitar) and West End vocalist Daniel Fletcher (stars in Rock of Ages).

Ibrahim is set to be released on Gerald’s own label The Interrupting Sheep available on 16th September.


 Links:

Intimate New EP Ibrahim From The Great Divide


New-Zealand-born, London-based film composer Gerald Clark (aka The Great Divide) teams up with an eclectic mix of artists, including the legendary Robert Wyatt, to bring this impressive and intimate new EP Ibrahim.

The EP’s three pensive and melancholic tracks each explore the feeling of being caught up between the ‘old world’ to and the new, feeling a loyalty to the traditions of the past, but unable to fully embrace the value system of the present.


The record features a guest appearance from iconic progressive rock vocalist Robert Wyatt, who sings and contributes tenor horn on the title track ‘Ibrahim’.

As Gerald explains: ‘Robert liked a jazz album I made 3 years ago. He gave it as one of his ‘albums of 2013’ in an interview. I frequently hear his voice in my head when I’m writing, so I wrote to him and asked if he’d consider it and fortunately he did.’

A future full-length album is in the works, set to include performances from other well-established names including esteemed trumpet virtuoso Byron Wallen, guitarist Neil Taylor (who has worked with the likes of Tears for Fears, Robbie Williams and Chris De Burgh), jazz composer Alex Roth (who has worked with Alice Zawadski and contributes guitar) and West End vocalist Daniel Fletcher (stars in Rock of Ages).

Ibrahim is set to be released on Gerald’s own label The Interrupting Sheep available on 16th September.


 Links:
https://soundcloud.com/geraldcmin6

7/22/2016

Daisy And The Dark - Review



'Circus' is a perfect example of the juxtaposition of emotions that music can express all at once. In this case it's her soft vocal tone describing a high energy and overwhelming circus atmosphere whilst a luscious production lays underneath her. The combination of these things lead to a dreamy and almost meditative state of mind whilst you listen.

Stream lead single ‘Circus’ here:


Links:

6/22/2016

Andy Meadows New Single ‘Never Be The Same’




Never Be The Same’ is the latest fun upbeat swing single from rising Texas artist Andy Meadows set to appear on his upcoming album Modern Day Crooner.

Accompanied by a vibrant 9 piece band, Andy delivers a swanky crooning voice powerful enough to compete with the likes of Harry Connick Jr., Michael Buble and Frank Sinatra. Steel guitar and fiddles meanwhile add a country vibe that harks back to Andy’s roots.

Lyrically, the song centres around being love-struck.

Andy explains the inspiration behind it: ‘I fell in love with the new girl at work and it had been years since I’d felt that way and I’d forgotten how wonderful and terrible falling in love can be, the sleepless nights the anticipation of a phone call or text, then analyzing what each text really means and how quickly or slowly you should respond, wondering if you should kiss her or shouldn’t kiss her, trying to play it cool when you see her even though it’s probably obvious that you’re madly in love with her. You know, the usual stuff.

Growing up in a country radio station owned by his father, the singer developed his interest in music at an early age. He started writing songs at the age of 16 and originally had plans to pursue a career as an opera singer winning his way into Texas Tech University as a vocal performance major. However, knowing opera wasn’t his real passion, he later transferred to South Plains College to study commercial music.

Andy is 6ft5in tall and was recently invited to the Dallas Tall People’s Club. ‘I never went but I find it really odd that there’s a club made up of people and the only thing they have in common is that they’re all tall. I guess they just sit around and talk about where they buy their pants.


Links:


Watch the lyric video to the single here:

6/20/2016

J-KEYS Releases New Single Wreckless



Featuring a killer hook and a lively party atmosphere, ‘Wreckless’ is the new fun single from Essex-born, Bournemouth-based rising UK hip hop star, J Keys.
The rapper started writing music 10 years ago, his debut album ‘When Idols Become Rivals’ dropping a couple years back, receiving much praise from fans.

With a new LP in the works, J plans to slowly drip-feed us a new track each month, ‘Wreckless’ being the first taster. It comes accompanied by some vibrant action-packed visuals.

Links:




6/10/2016

The Breaking Pattern Reinvent Emo Rock With Incredible New Album "There Are Roadmaps In Our Veins"




The face of the Phoenix emo revival movement’ – The Huffington Post

Taking influences from Real Friends, Man Overboard and The Wonderyears, The band are quite literally breaking the pattern of emo rock by delivering a euphoric and almost ethereal sound through the reverb bathed guitars and heartfelt lyrics. 
The album challenges the personal struggle of a failing relationship. The band’s frontman explains: ‘The album is somewhat of a break-up album, chronicling the various stages of a doomed relationship from the moments leading up to the split until the resolution and recovery. I say “somewhat” because it is not a concept album. The songs do not tell one specific story, but are a compilation of personal experience and the stories I’ve witnessed from friends who had their own hearts disintegrated into red dust.
That being said I feel it's a catalyst through which those feeling less than ecstatic can vent and learn from, whilst also revelling in the bands clear flowing wealth of musical knowledge and experience.
My favourite track, "Let Love Go", is a strong opening to the vibe of the album and has an awesome mix of melodic guitar lines supported by complex atmospheric riffs which complement the nostalgic theme perfectly.
Having sold out many shows since their formation, their album is an opportunity to get into the loop if you've been unfortunate enough to miss out on them.
Links:



The Fresh And Enlightening Psychedelic Inspired Sound Of Young Malak Is Sure To Make Waves On Te Scene

Watch the video here:

Young Malak's music is an honest rendition of how accurately music expresses an artist's personality and experiences. Reminiscent of the sounds of Tyler the Creator, Earl Sweatshirt, Flatbush Zombies and Joey Badass, The Virginia Beach phenomenon expertly communicates his experiences of self discovery after having a severe phase of writers block and self disbelief. The outpouring of emotions embedded into the mixtape are sure to make you experience thoughts and feelings that you never felt music could evoke inside of you.
Young Malak talks about his lyrics: ‘One point in my life I was lost stuck trying to figure myself out as well as my self-purpose and the more I searched inside myself I began to overtime breakdown my thoughts and feelings to help me remember me. The more you understand your own self the more you will understand this world, and if you can understand this world you realise everything in the universe is one.’

His performance at the Shaggfest of 2015 communicated his message through his performance and we urge you to see him perform live.
Young Malak is a personification of passion, with activities other than music including spinning poi fire, meditating, enjoying nature, reading spiritual books and indulging in the creative benefits of THC from the well known herb oregano.

Media Links:



Newborn Are Getting Down To Earth With 'Gravity' Taken From Self Titled EP - Out 14th July



Newborn's nostalgic yet surprisingly uplifting anthem 'Gravity' features grungy guitars and heartfelt lyrics. With an almost harrowing opening guitar riff, as soon as the vocals come in you are lulled into a hazy state leaving you feeling the raw emotion behind the song without even thinking. 

With the mesmerising EP scheduled for release on June the 14th it's a tantalising wait to hear the rest of the tracks. Quoting the frontman Allen 'Music ... It really does heal people.’ so particularly if you are in need of a little boost, watch their social media religiously in order to hear them first.

Links:

6/07/2016

Role Model Challan Charmichael Presents His Fresh Single 'Step by Step'

"Nottingham's next MC Hammer" - The Nottingham Post

"Step by Step" boasts a catchy and feel good hook supported by a smooth and sleek production. Featuring local children from his church to sing along with him adds the extra freshness, originality and true inspirational nature of Challan's music. Taking influence from artists such as Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder and Whitney Houston "Step by Step" has all the ingredients of a chart topping summer track youd hear whilst basking in the summers glorious sun.
Challan explains the feelings behind music: ‘I love good wholesome music and am very aware of how music can help you to motivate and uplift. In the current climate with so much negativity in the world it is very easy to be bombarded with negative images and messages continuously. Sometimes it is good to focus on the positive side and also positive messages so that we can remember it is not all doom and gloom.

The single will be available on Spotify, Tidal, Bandcamp, Datpiff.com, Soundcloud, Reverbnation, and Youtube for free
Links:

5/27/2016

Big Zero 'Tear It Up And Start Again' New Video Feature

Recently came across these guys and absolutely loved the new video for their brand single 'Tear it Up and Start again' Check it out here:


Gigs
June 10th - Sub89 (playing with Bis), Reading 

Links:
www.twitter.com/bigzeromusic 
www.youtube.com/bigzeromusic 
www.facebook.com/bigzeromusic 
www.instagram.com/bigzeromusic

4/21/2016

Big Zero Release New Retro-Flavoured EP ‘Mainstream Propaganda’


Influenced by late-70s/early-80s New Wave Punk, upcoming band Big Zero release this exciting new EP ‘Mainstream Propaganda’. It’s a politically-charged anti-establishment record for the modern age.
There are hints of Talking Heads and Blondie in the guitars and lyrics, whilst ‘Turn Up Your Radio’ could even sports a vocal style similar to The Police’s Sting.
The EP is colourful and proof of a band with a clear and promising sound and vision.
Watch the video for ‘Tear It Up And Start Again’ below:



Links:

3/31/2016

Energetic New Funk-Rock Track From Dubai One-Man-Band Bull Funk Zoo


Funk rock singer, guitarist and producer Assaad Lakkis (aka Bull Funk Zoo) is Dubai’s latest brilliantly balmy one-man-act. His latest single ‘Would You’ is a psychedelia-infused mixture of raw guitar grooves and slovenly vocals.
Taking influence from artists as wide-ranging as Earth Wind and Fire, Frank Zappa and Megadeath, the artist has crafted his own unique sound. The Middle East have already embraced him, crowds of up to 30,000 people attending his shows. An album in the pipeline, the musician now turns his sights to the rest of the world.

Links:
https://bullfunkzoo.bandcamp.com


3/29/2016

‘Space Metal’ Outfit, Orca, Release New Debut Album, Universe


New genre alert! ‘Space Metal’ is the fresh new label being pushed by these UK-based alt-rockers.
Influenced by bands such as Tool and Deftones, Orca’s latest album contrasts planet-sized riffs with softer moments of eerie zero-gravity ambience. Frontman Christian Edwards provides soaring vocals over the top. The result is both atmospheric and hard hitting.
Highlights include lead single ‘Amber’, with it’s plummeting chugging mid-section and epic outro, and ‘Swimming Upstream’, which starts with brooding clean guitars before exploding into a climax of dissonant riffs, including some groovy bass slides.
Each track is well-paced and excitingly unpredictable.
Check out the single ‘Amber’ below:



Links:

The Soft Shades "Keeper Of The Groove" Album Review


This is an instrumental post rock project done right in almost every way; the ambience is subtle in places and at other times leaves you on the edge of your seat and questioning what is coming next. It is a cracking record that truly embraces everything an instrumental rock band should encompass, this is evident on tracks like “The Flare” and “First September Weekend”

My overall favourite track which feels like the lead track is “When this Day comes” and this is definitely a track that makes you think and allows your mind to wonder with possibilities.

That is the exciting element with instrumental bands, as a listener you can create the ambience and mood yourself, regardless of what the bands initial intentions were, everyone who listens to this album will take something different from this.

It is an absolutely stunning piece of work and music project and definitely a musical experience I would recommend!

The album is set for release on 22nd April




Links:
Bandcamp - http://thesoftshades.bandcamp.com/