Showing posts with label Fairport Convention. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Fairport Convention. Show all posts


Fairport Convention "It All Came Round Again: Onstage and On Air 1982-1998" Deluxe Boxset to be Released on Madfish July 26, 2024

Reissue specialists Madfish are proud to present the Fairport Convention “It All Came Around Again: Onstage and On Air 1982-90” deluxe boxset.

For the first time ever, fans can experience the timeless magic of Fairport Convention’s second Golden age all in one place with this meticulously crafted and comprehensive package.

With access to hours of live performances both on stage at Cropredy and in session on the BBC, this bespoke Madfish offering, curated by Bert Jansch/John McLaughlin biographer Colin Harper, is the definitive tribute to the legendary British folk-rock band’s enduring legacy.

The Fairport Convention legend was forged between 1967 and 1979 – 12 years, 16 albums, umpteen line-ups and four exhausted people at the end of it. In August 1980, the last line-up – Simon Nicol, Dave Swarbrick, Dave Pegg and Bruce Rowland – reunited for a day in a farmer’s field in Cropredy, Oxfordshire, establishing the iconic 'Fairport's Cropredy Convention' festival in the process. Five relatively quiet years passed by before, in 1985 and by popular demand, a new recording and touring Fairport Convention assembled around Peggy and Simon. Everything moved up a gear. There would be four new albums by 1990 and BBC Radio welcomed the reborn folk-rockers with remarkable regularity.

Watch the Trailer:

*Limited edition 11CD + DVD set with 60-page book and slipcase
*Reproduction memorabilia signed by four members of the legendary 1970 Full House line-up: Richard Thompson, Simon Nicol, Dave Pegg, Dave Mattacks
*Live at Cropredy Festival 1982–84 and 1986–87 plus BBC concerts and studio sessions
*Guest performances from Ralph McTell, June Tabor, Ian Anderson & Martin Barre (Jethro Tull)
*134 audio tracks – 57 previously unreleased
* Over 100 minutes of BBC DVD content including three bonus sessions from 1972–76

Mastering is by the mighty Eroc and the 60-page booklet features an extensive new essay by Kate Bush/John Martyn biographer Graeme Thomson, new appreciations by Fairport biographers Patrick Humphries and Nigel Schofield, vintage interview features by Colin Irwin and Mat Snow and superb photography from Dave Peabody.

The Fairport Convention “It All Came Round Again: Onstage And On Air 1982-1990’’ Boxset will be released on Madfish on 26th July. Pre-order here:  Madfish (

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA),


Fairport Convention Collect Together the Recordings on Alan Simon’s Rock Operas, Including 'Excalibur: The Celtic Rock Opera', on the Album 'Fame and Glory' – Out Now!

Fairport Convention has collected together its recordings created for Alan Simon’s various rock operas, including Excalibur: The Celtic Rock Opera, on a ‘catch all’ release for fans to buy the recordings in one place.   

The band previously made this compilation available to its fans, but this mainstream release adds three tracks including a previously unreleased studio recording ‘Goodbye My Friends’.

Simon Nicol described working on the songs: “Fairport Convention don’t often get asked to collaborate on outside projects, but none have been more exciting and artistically rewarding than those inspired by Alan Simon. One of the musical highlights of my professional life - and some of the most enjoyable times on and off stage. It’s great to have Fame and Glory as a souvenir of happy times.“

Dave Pegg said of the release “I am so pleased to see this great album available again but with bonus tracks. It was such a joy to record and play on these lovely songs with some of my favourite musicians. Do get hold of a copy - it will make a nice Xmas prezzie!”

The line-up on this compilation is: Gerry Conway (drums and percussion), Dave Pegg (bass guitar), Simon Nicol (guitars, vocals), Ric Sanders (violin) and Chris Leslie (vocals, bouzouki, mandolin and violin).

Fame and Glory features the special guests: Martin Barre, John Wetton, John Helliwell, Dan Ar Braz, Alan Simon, Pat O’May, Andreas Vollenweider, Laurent Tixier, Jacqui McShee, James Wood & Dave Mattacks.

French musician Alan Simon, creator of the rock operas, described the release: “This has got all the famous songs from my collaborations with Fairport Convention.  This album is considered some of Fairport at its best.”

Fame and Glory is OUT NOW via the below links:
Amazon CD:

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 1-828-350-8158 (US),