Metal Review: A Sound of Thunder-Tales from the Deadside

Release Date: September 25, 2015
Label: Mad Neptune Records

Like a train made of adamantine and traveling faster than the speed of sound, A Sound of Thunder seems to be one metal band that cannot slow down or be stopped.  I became aware of them in 2012 with Out of the Darkness and was continually impressed with 2013’s Queen of Hell and Time’s Arrow and 2014’s The Lesser Key of Solomon.  The latter two are masterpieces as far as I am concerned, and it looks like we have another one in Tales from the Deadside.

Hailing from the Washington D.C. area, the band is comprised of Nina Osegueda (vocals), Justin Schwartz (guitar), Chris Haren (drums), and Jesse Keen (bass).  

Tales from the Deadside is their fifth album that is also a concept album based on the comic book character Shadowman.  It is a dark and bizarre journey that is not just worth the time, but it also represents A Sound of Thunder’s most ambitious and best effort to date.  It is one more masterpiece in an already impressive collection.

Tales from the Deadside gets off to a fantastic start with “Children of the Dark.”  It is one atmospheric and haunting song that is the first stop on this dark and exhilarating ride.  The vocals are in nothing less than top form and the guitars absolutely sizzle.  It is one of those songs that once you hear it, then you just cannot wait for the next song because you know that it is going to be good.  And “Sandria (Carry On)” proves this to be correct as it is a great song that gets better and better as it goes on.  It starts of slow and enticing, before kicking it up a couple of notches. Nina’s voice on this one is chilling.  There are some hair-raising moments that are sure to keep bringing you back for more.

Next up is “Can’t Go Back,” which beings with some sweet rhythmic drumming that pull the listener in.  It is all very heavy and melodic, as Nina’s vocals soar above it all for another stellar performance.  “Deadside” is an all-around great song from start to finish, with its sultry bassline running throughout this hard rocking tune. The dark and brooding first half is followed by an even more incredible second half, like two halves of a gothic dream.  It is a testament to the strength of this album that it just missed out on being a key track. That is because “Tower of Souls” is there to take its slot.  It is pure intensity for the very beginning, like an adrenaline shot to the heart. It is the type of song that could raise the dead.

“Losing Control (The Unquiet Shadow)” features more of the crushing metal sound that gives this album its heaviness.  The most energetic and pulsating song on the album, “Punk Mambo,” is an uncompromising rocker that really gets the blood pumping and the head banging.  Showing off some musical versatility is the emotional “Alyssa (Life in Shadows).” “Tremble” and “End Times” bring it on home with a loud and an entrancing ending, and fantastic performances that leave it all on the floor.

A Sound of Thunder’s Tales from the Deadside is a fun and an incredible album.  They have been able to surpass their previous effort once again.  It seems that they are amassing a discography full of masterpieces.  Tales from the Deadside is no exception and is as good as any place to start from if you are new to their music.  After this album, I cannot wait to hear from them again to see what they can come up with next.  

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Children of the Dark, Tower of Souls, End Times


01. Children of the Dark
02. Sandria (Carry On)
03. Can’t Go Back
04. Deadside
05. Tower of Souls
06. Losing Control (The Unquiet Shadow)
07. Punk Mambo
08. Alyssa (Life in Shadows)
09. Tremble
10. End Times

Brian McKinnon - Write A Music Review Sr. Staff

February 9, 2016


No comments:

Post a Comment

Ads Inside Post