Showing posts with label World Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label World Reviews. Show all posts

8/12/2021

World Review: Ciro Hurtado-Luna

Release Date: August 12, 2021

Label: Independent

Website

 

A lot can happen when one man picks up an acoustic guitar with a world of creativity and ideas flowing through his mind. Ciro Hurtado is one of those talented individuals that make things happen intuitively with his instrument of choice. 


Ciro Hurtado has released nine albums under his name including In My Mind, Tales From Home, The Magic Hour, Guitarra, Echoes of the Andes, Guitarrista, Los Angeles Blues, Ayahuasca Dreams, Selva, and Altiplano. Now we have Luna.

Knowing this before the beginning of the first track, created a lot of expectations for me. This is the kind of energy and excitement that comes from knowing what you are about to hear is from a polished professional. I was not disappointed for one second while listening to my maiden voyage with Ciro.

“Luna,” the title track, is a magnificent track with exceptional instrumentation from the guitar and accentuated with the grace of the flute. Those two instruments are very complimentary in an acoustic setting such as this.

“Rimac” is a wonderful display of virtuosity. It is so awe-inspiring to hear, it sounds like more than one person playing. That kind of sound just blows me away in every instance. And with that, I become very aware I am hearing something very special, that is not an everyday occurrence. Although I have had the blessings of listening to such talent for many years, my wonder and appreciation continue to grow.

“Amor en Pandemia” is very special, translated to English it is “Love in Pandemic.” The vocals are provided by the lovely vocalist Milena Salamanca while Ciro keeps the steady flow and beat of the song. This is a river of emotion and a beautiful depiction of our times set to music. There are few albums I have heard this year that have not dedicated a track or two to what we have gone through. This is all about our healing globally and the one thing that has no borders or lines in the sand, is music! Without exception, it should be all-inclusive because essentially, we are all the same desiring the same things. Music such as this helps to open the door to a clearer view of the world. That of course is my belief and other listeners will hear and feel entirely different things. This is what makes the world go round, our diversity yet a universal need for love and acceptance.

“Andean Celtic” was yet another gorgeous track with flute as the guitar’s partner. The movement of the piece is energizing and inspiring. Ciro’s playing is exceptionally fluid and elegant. He has the knack of introducing his guitar to your senses in a very inviting way. He eases you into the song as he becomes one with his instrument and the overall presentation. It is a beautiful thing to hear, feel, and absorb.

With each passing track, you feel like you are taking a journey of exploration and “Amanecer” creates that atmosphere and as you become eager to hear more, the excitement of the track builds. It is a soundtrack to whatever trip your mind, body, and spirit decide to go on. Once again, the beauty of the song and your listening experience is your choice and the music leads the way seamlessly. Every track does just that for you.

For another vocal track “Luna Llena,” which is “Full Moon” translated, is like a sweet lullaby with some great picking, and the organ is introduced here for a nice effect and backdrop. Then of course the amazing vocalizations of Milena to make it all complete.

With Luna (or the moon) as the main subject depicted on the cover art, it gives a lot of meaning to everything you will hear on this marvelous, primarily world-new age instrumental recording. As the people of the earth see the moon from where we stand, the music can bring us new perceptions and closer together because we are so interconnected wi
th the realizations that we do orbit around each other’s lives.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-New Age Music Reviews Founder
August 12, 2021

 

Tracks:
1. Camino (4:05)
2. Luna (4:58)
3. Rimac (4:58)
4. Amor en Pandemia (5:23)
5. Andean Celtic (4:07)
6. Amanecer (5:16)
7. Luna Llena (5:04)
8. Taruka (3:43)
9. Del Norte Soy (4:32)

 



7/02/2019

World Review: Riad Abdel-Gawad-Words of Peace

Release Date: June 21, 2019
Label: Medan Elmusica

Riad Abdel-Gawad is the founder and Executive Director of Midan Elmusica (The Music Square), which exhibits to and informs the US public about what is called: “Arabic Music” from Egypt. (information gleaned from the artist website). There is much more to the story of course.

The importance of Words of Peace goes far beyond the music itself. The Midan Elmusica, Inc. Promotions is a not for profit organization that is promoting this CD release of the artist. So, playing the music, buying the CD or streaming it on ZMR, for instance, all goes into supporting the project.

The recording utilizes 17 singers, chanters and instrumentalists in a music ensemble from Cairo, Egypt. All the music was Composed by Riad Abdel-Gawad.  This is music that is very important on many levels however to the uninformed listener it could have an entirely different meaning. I could not give it a spin without finding out more about the artist that created and why. That made a big difference in my entire perception of what I was hearing.

Words of Peace utilizes 17 singers, chanters and instrumentalists in a music ensemble from Cairo, Egypt. Composed by Riad Abdel-Gawad, Words of Peace cross-pollinates the western oratorio with the eastern wasla and nouba musical traditions into a newly composed 21st-Century work in the World music genre.
Through music, song and chant, Words of Peace offers healing, spiritual and practical tools to our present-day existential dilemma along with offering a social critique of racism, corruption, materialism, and the Climate Crisis. To the story of Adam & Eve, to the history of Egypt and to the narrative of Prophet Muhammed’s striving towards peace through the activism of politics, the result – of the 18-track 53-minute album – is a secular and sacred parable about the plight of our planet and its inhabitants through Arabic and Nubian (African) poetry.
I think all the individuals that contributed deserve a lot of credit for lending their expertise to the music. The vocals are very melodic and so is the music.  I did really enjoy the music; it does get your toes tapping. 

Regardless of the lack of knowledge of the language in the vocals, it did not take away the meaning or overall significance of what I was taking in. 

Words of Peace is exposing world music that many have never had the opportunity to hear, including me. It is reaching out to be heard and I am certain it will be. This is music that can be appreciated in many different ways and I think there is an audience that would be eager to hear this project and learn more about the story behind it.

June 28, 2019
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. The World is a Beautiful Place!
02. The Nay: The Song of the Nile
03. Adam & Eve: The Global Starters
04. The Violin: Instrument of the People
05. The Qanun: Metaphor for the Physical, Spiritual and Universal Rules
06. GOD blessed him (Prophet Mohamed [SAW]) in GOD's heavens
07. The Oud: The Crying Earth (Seven)
08. We wIsh for] Peace, Peace to GOD's Folk in All Places!
09. Oh! Mother Egypt, Your Water (The Nile) is Balm which Changes and Heals our Minds.
10. The Cotton Harvest: An Affirmation of Life
11. Oh Egypt! O Mother of (Life's) Long Struggle!
12. At-Taqaseem: The Egyptian People's Song Without Words
13. Coda (Instrumental)
14. To Every Cry in the (trying) Time Subsides to (Peaceful) Silence
15. All People -- Regarding their Origin -- Originate in Equality
16. Words of Peace: Instrumental Finale
17. Prayer for Peace
18. Peace for Peace


2/08/2019

New Age-World Review: Grayhawk-Voice of the Ancestors

Release Date: February 1, 2019
Label: Deep Space Music

Grayhawk (David Gibney) recently released Voice of the Ancestors, the third and final album in a Shamanic Trilogy.

He is a man that has been healing from the tragedy of losing his toddler son. He has transitioned from that pain and loss and transformed his life with more purpose to help those that have special needs. Also created is a foundation in honor of his son to help those with neuroblastoma, a catastrophic pediatric cancer of the sympathetic nervous system that took his life.

Obviously, his music holds many meanings but the primary goal is to ascend to a higher place, heal the soul, and in essence become reborn with new life and purpose.

Voice of the Ancestors features the usual lineup of stars from the New Age genre that find their way on to most of the releases I have the honor of hearing. Grayhawk plays the synthesizers as a base instrument then there is so much more that contributes to the overall sound and textures of this release. To say it is World music is correct but with a New Age concept and approach. The ancients held many traditions and ceremonies all over the world. What this recording captures is the very spirit and color of that diversity and beauty.

There are native flutes, worldbeat percussions, viola, ambient guitar lines, and gorgeous vocalizations, particularly on “Peace Prayer.” The track runs over 10 minutes and takes 160 tracks of invocation of English, Hebrew, Farsi, and Arabic. There is also the shorter version, a little over 5 minutes for the internet streaming stations to play. Honestly, I have heard similar tracks but nothing like this before. The blend of all the languages balances with the English word, which is still heard so you can listen to the translations at the same time, amazing. This is the kind of track that deserves worldwide attention and should be heard on every inch of the globe. 

Grayhawk has created a work of genius that encompasses music, words and a powerful spiritual message. This is a brilliant example of a man taking his personal tragedy and using it to give back to the universe his love and healing. I can hear this playing in the background of a cinematic tribute to the different peoples of the world and how they worship and provide music for their people. 

Voice of the Ancestors is an incredible gift for all to enjoy. Listen closely, you may hear the whispers of your own ancestors in this music.

February 8, 2019
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
1. Transcendent Soul 3:12
2. The Banteay Srei Temple 4:57
3. Guardians of Goddess Thien Hau 6:08
4. Voice of the Ancestors 8:40
5. Peace Prayer A’ Cappella 1:50
6. Peace Prayer 10:11
7. Ambient Meditation 8:08
8. Peace Prayer (short version) 5:06



2/02/2019

New Age Meditation-World Review: Paradiso & Rasamayi-Agape Evolution: The Movement

Release Date: January 18, 2019
Label: 5th Element

The didgeridoo is a wind instrument developed by Indigenous Australians of northern Australia. It is an ancient instrument still in use today. The drone sound that it makes is mesmerizing and used very effectively in meditation and for various musical projects not intended for that specific use.
Paradiso & Rasamayi are a couple that have combined their talents on several new age albums. Agape Evolution: The Movement is their most recent release.

The goal of this dynamic and talented couple is to create healing frequencies to cleanse the soul. That is a tall order indeed however the power of music cannot be underestimated. This is a fifteen track two-disc limited edition digipak tri-fold work of art. What you have the opportunity to embrace are some amazing sounds on Agape Evolution: The Movement.

The use of the didgeridoos, keyboards, singing bowls and voice work is a beautiful, colorful and earthy combination. It will delight new age and world music fans and those seeking a path to meditation.

The drone of the digeridoos is a steady focal point for those pursuing meditation while listening. Outside of that realm, if you are seeking quite relaxation time to clear your mind, this music can get you there.

Everything that is blended into that one foundation instrument just adds to the layers and textures that are created over the two discs. Within each track you will hear an amazing blend of instrumentals and voice. I found it all very relaxing and healing. That is the goal of Paradiso & Rasamayi, to show listeners there is an outlet for healing, a positive exercise of sounds, vibrations, tones and frequencies (all keyboards are tuned to 432hz) to realign the chakras. The end result is you become a better you, and an example for others to follow.

Agape Evolution: The Movement is a must have companion for meditation and relaxation that should not be missed. There is enough music and vibrations here to last for a good hour or if you want less you can play one disc. Either way you are making the right choice and receiving the full benefit of the art presented on this set.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
February 2, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

CD1:

01. Clearing Vortex
02. Goddess Fire
03. Archangel Intercession
04. Agape’s Call
05. Love's Visioning
06. Shadow Illumination
07. Integrating Divine
08. Transcending Time
09. Entering Aum


CD 2:


10. Ancestors' Embrace
11. Sowing Starseeds
12. Birthing the Eternal
13. Sacred Heart Soaring
14. Beyond Attachment
15. Global Aum

 

11/23/2018

New Age-World-Electronic-Meditation Review: Rigzin-PROTECTION ~ A Ceremony of Protector Prayers

Release Date: November 9, 2018
Label: Rigzin Music
I had strong feelings that I was about to embark on a music spiritual that I would never forget before listening to the recent Rigzin release PROTECTION ~ A Ceremony of Protector Prayers.

I received a gift last Christmas, a book titled 365 Dali Lama Daily Advice From The Heart. I have faithfully read these passages every day and it most certainly has piqued my interest and changed my outlook on life. This is the path I have been on seeking spiritual enlightenment through New Age music. I have had some amazing music to listen to over the last three years and it just got more interesting when I received the third release in a sacred trilogy from Rigzin. If anything, it has increased my knowledge and curiosity about the practice of Buddhism.

Rigzin has dedicated her life to the practices of Tibetan Buddhism. She had trained intensively to sing the prayers of elaborate ceremonies, during her traditional 3-year retreat, which now stands at more than 30 years ago.

So where do I begin with such a unique artist and the messages she is imparting upon the human race? This is not a simple task but then again what good is a listen if it does not present a challenge and time to reflect?

This work of musical art can be described as new age, world, meditation and electronic. Each track delivers all of those elements in a most prolific and thought-provoking way. One of the lines I heard loud and clear was “Love will defeat hate.” I like that line and I believe it holds true and will be the world’s saving grace if we only take heed. 

There is so much going on with this recording, at times you just cannot put it into words. There is chanting and worldly sounds and electronic textures and above all, a rhythm flowing through this music that is inherently spiritual and pure. That is something I find very appealing and can find some guidance from within. This music will speak to your soul. If you are a spiritual individual you will find great value in this music. I really enjoyed the complexity and all of the tools used to make something ancient and trusted into a more relatable, listenable, and then freshly interpreted, for a person of today. You could call it a spiritual morphing.

The tracks that had the most impact on my mind, body, and soul (through the ears) were “Bodhicitta,” “Prophecy” and “Wrathful Guru.” These tracks are epic translations of spirituality driven by the tenets of Tibetan Buddhism. The messages are clear and concise and they will make you rethink everything, I can promise you that. You may already agree and be aligned with these thoughts and beliefs and came to a realization long ago about where you stand spiritually. Even so, this will still call out to you to reaffirm and possibly bring to light more of what you need. 

The music of PROTECTION ~ A Ceremony of Protector Prayers drives and steers the words and feelings straight to your heart, even if you do not understand the language of chants, somehow it all it works and very well at that.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 21, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Call to Awaken 01:16  
02. Buddha 00:53  
03. Red Lotus Dakini 03:46
04. Prophecy 03:12
05. Wrathful Guru 03:30
06. Protection 06:11  
07. Vajrasattva 08:15  
08. Kilaya 06:42
09. Protectors of the Land 10:40
10. Heart of the Lotus 07:28  
11. Bodhicitta 04:58

 

4/17/2017

New Age/World Review: Monk Party-Silence Flooded Trance

Release Date: August 27, 2016
Label: Purity Productions

Monk Party are a father and son duo Pragunya and Nelson Myers-Daly. They follow the Sri Chimnoy school of thought. Chimnoy held public events such as concerts and meditations on the theme of inner peace while advocating a spiritual path to God through prayer and meditation.

Silence Flooded Trance is their second release. Since I have decided to take a deeper dive into this type of music I have come to the realization that it has no bearing on what language they happen to be using when singing. It is the music that carries the weight of their message on a universal level. There is a reason it is labeled as “World” music. This gradual belief that has come to life for me is once again the proof that music has no lines in the sand, no boundaries to consider. The only boundaries that have been in place my entire life where self-imposed. Now I am listening like an open door that brings about endless possibilities for spiritual and personal growth.

There is a purposeful slow pace to this recording and it is a simplistic scaled down sound with a focus on some gorgeous harmonizing from the synchronized father and son team. Their vocals are most definitely one of the featured instruments with this presentation.

I found this music very spiritual and relaxing. It is a tool to be used as you see fit. How this tool fits you can be something very personal and the only way to find out is to listen. That is the beauty and freedom of music, and that is a guarantee every time you decide to listen.

Silence Flooded Trance gives you some insight into what you will hear on this album. You will be in silence while listening and then find yourself in a trance flooded with gentle and warm sounds. In total, this is exceptional music that is divinely inspired.

If your mind is open and your heart true, then proceed to give this album your full attention. You will have a sense of calmness and oneness with the holy spirit in short order. It is a refreshing break from daily life that comes filled with tasks and energy sapping situations at times. This is a chance for renewal of mind, body and spirit.

For those of you that are curious the artist was kind enough to provide some translations of some of the tracks.

Track 1: Aum Shivaya Namaha -
I prayerfully bow
To the Lord Shiva,
the Silence-flooded Trance.

Track 2:
Immortality-Light 

Track 4: Sabar Katha
Inside the deep heart of the blue sea you shall find me /
I prayerfully bow
To the Supreme Lord
who pervades the entire Universe. 

Track 6: Aum Sate Namaha
I prayerfully bow
To the One who is Infinity’s pure existence

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 17, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
1. Aum Shivaya Namaha
2. Sabar Katha  
3. My Sweet Lord's
4. Inside The Deep Heart
5. Jedin Ami    
6. Aum Sate Namaha
7. Bahudin Pare
8. Ami Kandibona
9. Sabiy Madhur

Ads Inside Post