Showing posts with label Instrumental Piano Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Instrumental Piano Reviews. Show all posts

6/20/2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Michele McLaughlin- Memoirs

Release Date: May 24, 2019
Label: Independent

Memoirs will be the fourth album I have had the opportunity to enjoy by pianist Michele McLaughlin. Her reputation in the music community is a stellar one and with the latest release, that kind of positive support and feedback will continue to grow.

The first track is a powerful musical statement. Michele works hard to relay a message to her listeners on “Thankful” You can actually feel the word expressed in the music. Without the human voice to express itself, there are many other ways to do so, particularly through the arts that are visual and audible. 

Talented piano players like Michele take a blank canvas and let their emotions and spirits flow through the ivory keys. I am continually amazed at how beautiful and meaningful this instrumental music can be. Michele is one of those players that gets your attention and holds it with a variety of tempos and rhythms.

One of the more breathtaking tracks in “Northern Lights.” Her playing is exemplary. The pace at which she hits the keys is incredibly fast then within the blink of an eye she changes the entire track into a softer melodious passage then it closes out with an attention-getting deep bass tone. To really appreciate such complex piano playing you have to pay attention to all the layers of music being created and the varying tempos that allow it to change so fast. The transitions Michele makes in her music can be quite a display of technical and innate sense of musicality.

So once again, the brilliance of Michele McLaughlin comes shining through her music with energy, poignancy, grace, and beauty. At times all of those elements are combined to give you a wall of sound that is difficult to imagine with one piano. She does it all with tastefulness and precision on Memoirs.

Memoirs is another triumph for Michele McLaughlin and she has set the bar another notch higher for her contemporaries.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
June 20, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Thankful
02. Pure Joy
03. Dark Moon
04. Triumph
05. Little Love
06. My Life with You
07. Beneath the Surface
08. Alone
09. Winter
10. Northern Lights
11. Peace
12. Dismissed


6/03/2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Milana Zilnik- Notte

Release Date: June 1, 2019
Label: Independent

According to the discography on Milana Zilnik’s website, on June 1, 2019, she will release her 13th album titled Notte (which means night in Italian). That is a very impressive library of recorded works. And the fact that I am not familiar with her work gives me pause to wonder why! Well, I am here to help those of you who are in a similar point in time I am and to take some time to listen to this music.

The artist decided, with the encouragement of her husband, to challenge herself and record a minimalist album. She is accustomed to making more complicated and colorful music. Do not be discouraged by that statement as what Milana has to say on the 12 tracks encompassing this ambitious effort is quite a lot. Not mention not uttering one word.

Stepping away from your comfort zone is difficult. It can be in any situation like work, or something that triggers those good endorphins. Music, really good music, should put you in your comfort zone. And why wouldn’t anyone want to do that? We can thank the artist for putting her best foot, or should I say fingers, forward on Notte.

Notte takes the listener through 12 hours of specific times, feelings and atmospheres. Each track intends to deliver a lapse of time and music to relate to the time (8 pm to 7 am) and title. The desire to see this to its completion was a success in every way. 

The minimalist approach is nothing new to these ears, especially when it comes to piano music. I hear a lot of it and I must say that I always enjoy it to the fullest extent. If it reaches out and touches my soul in some way it was a success from where I sit. For me personally, this has been an incredibly busy and at times very stressful time in the daily work setting. Having music like Notte to listen to is a very therapeutic exercise for me. The focus one can put on just the piano and the sounds emanating from it, can ease the mind which in turn slows the heartbeat, which then equates to a placidness that cannot be found during the course of a day, at least not for me. I am sure there are many people out there experiencing the same things on a daily basis. So, it is what you would call a healthy escape valve that I have access to any time I want it.

Notte is the right time to heal and regenerate our blood cells, minds, and attitudes for the following day. With the help of one very talented, not to mention brave, musician named Milana Zilnik, you to can attain a different state of mind and fulfillment.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
June 3, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. 8PM: Shadows
02. 9PM: Sunset
03. 10PM: Twilight
04. 11PM: Calmness
05. 12AM: Midnight
06. 1AM: Longing
07. 2AM: Echoes
08. 3AM: Silence
09. 4AM: Dreams
10. 5AM: Quietude
11. 6AM: Reflections
12. 7AM: Dawn


LINKS:




 



4/08/2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Stephen Wallack-Chapters

Release Date: April 1, 2019
Label: Independent

A debut album can make you or break you in many ways. On the other side of that black and white outlook, it can change your entire life path regardless of what direction it takes you, change will prevail. Any way you look at it your music effects each and every individual.

For Stephen Wallack April 1, 2019, was a pivotal moment in his life.  He released his first recording Chapters. He looks at his life as a story that has unfolded in different Chapters, and now his music reflects that outlook. Stephen, I can tell you the right person is hearing everything you are saying in your biography and in your music.

The spontaneity of a first listen launches my inspiration to talk about music and with Stephen’s music, it was an easy task, a natural flow of feelings. For this music fan, that is the very process that keeps the blood pumping and my fingers moving to type these words you read. Music keeps me alive 24/7 and at times makes me feel like I have already reached heaven. 

For instance, “Cooper’s Song” is about the passing of a friend and you can feel the pain and sadness in the voice of the music. I also got a chill knowing that person’s spirit lives on through Stephen’s music, what a blessing to feel that and really hear the emotion of a song without words. It is indeed a beautiful thing that anyone can experience with the right mindset before you decide to hit “play.” There are many uplifting tracks on this release, however I thought mentioning the pure emotion of “Coppers Song” was a very good example of how powerful this music can be.

A lot of this instrumental piano-based music is thriving as a sub-genre of new age. This is for a good reason; it is very spiritually based music that touches the very soul of the listener. The individuality and on purpose simplicity are the strengths from which each story is composed then played through the fingers of an artist. In this case, it is Stephen Wallack that brings us all to that place we love to go, another dimension, space, feeling, emotion, or whatever you want to call it. This is what changes our view of our surroundings and the people in our lives.  

Stephen mentions hearing George Winston’s classic piano instrumental album December when he was 12.  I happen to love that album and after hearing it sought out more of the same. So right at the start of listening to Stephen’s music, I felt a connection that helped me to instantly bond to the sounds, vibrations, and colors he offered within the 10 tracks of Chapters

Let Chapters into your life and write your own story to the music. This is a great tool for clearing the mind and to focus while de-stressing every second of the way.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 8, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 
01. Virginia  6:51
02. Oceans  6:29
03. Cooper’s Song  4:46
04. Trains  5:19
05. Dad  5:23
06. Chicago  4:26
07. The Traveler  5:33
08. Wedding Song  4:52
09. Holiday  4:55
10. Archer  5:45

1/12/2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Faith Angelina-Notes From Zion

Release Date: January 3, 2019
Label: Independent

I had my first introduction to Faith Angelina in 2017. I was provided the opportunity to listen and cover her Reaching12 recording. And yes, that was an indication of her age at the time!

Incredible as that sounds, this young lady is light years beyond other kids her age in maturity as an individual and musician. At the turn of the new year, she has returned with another instrumental piano album titled Notes From Zion. I looked forward to this being instrumental bliss just like the first album, and it was.

Faith is her name and for good reason. She exemplifies what a young lady should be if there was a belief in God, a higher power, and the words of the Bible. Zion was the home of Enoch in the Bible. If you look at the CD cover you can see the beautiful city in the heavens. 

Faith is very advanced spiritually and musically; her music is definitely a gift from heaven. I have no doubt someone like Faith was put her on this earth not to just entertain with music, but to teach with it. She is the master of her instrument the piano, and the listeners are her students. She has to be an old soul, that is all I can say in regards to all of those thoughts and feelings I have about this incredible artist.

I decided to include all of the verbiages that Faith decided to write about each individual track. These are her personal Notes From Zion, in the written form. What you hear her playing on the 12 piano instrumental tracks included on the CD, is in sync with her thought process, faith, beliefs, and distinctive musical ability. All of this is one cohesive presentation. What you witness is a teenager and her instrument sending out a message to the world. If you read the words that go with the tracks it becomes even more powerful, meaningful and clear. An active listener will catch on to all of this very quickly.

The music that is created on Notes From Zion is a threefold process made up of musical notes, words of wisdom, and a spiritual journey to those open to stepping through that portal. It is door waiting to be opened. It all worked so very well for me, it clicked in a short time span. I hope everyone that listens to this project is able to see the light shining through. What an amazing gift to share with the world.

Top of the Mountains - Throughout the scriptures, God has spoken to prophets from the top of the mountains. Whenever I look at the majestic mountains around my home, I think about God looking down on me and wonder how I am measuring up.

Notes From Zion – I try to write music that invites the spirit so that it is easy to meditate and escape from my troubles. In this song, I hear the inspiration from heaven.

Baby Faith – When I was little, everyone called me Baby Faith. It is kind of how Faith works for everyone. Just like I have been growing and maturing, our Faith grows and matures as well if we work at it.

Kolob Canyon – Kolob Canyon is part of Zion’s National Park and named after where God dwells. Sometimes I long to feel closer to God.

Snow Canyon – Snow Canyon is a beautiful state park in St. George Utah that my family loves to go hiking in. The red rocks are inspirational and memorable. The music almost writes its self.

The Living Planet – Sometimes I just pause and sit in amazement at the beauty of this earth and the variety of life around me.

Ensign Peak - This is a mountain peak overlooking the Salt Lake valley where I live. I love hiking to mountain peaks to get a change of perspective on the world I live in. I believe it is only through constantly looking at life through different lenses and perspectives that we truly grow.

Flowing Waters – There is nothing sweeter than the peaceful feeling that comes from an answer to a prayer. We wait patiently for answers and when they come it is like flowing waters of revelation.

The Narrows – The Narrows is a famous hike in Zion’s national park through slot canyons. The majestic views of the stone walls surrounding you create a mixture of thoughts and emotions.

Finding Your Why – Having a purpose and knowing myself is the key to happiness. Throughout this last year, I have found what I believe to be one of my callings in life.

Angels Landing – One of the most famous places in Zion’s is Angels Landing. My dad and brother hiked up there and back while filming. I am afraid of heights and don’t think I can manage this one by myself because of the huge cliff drops. I tried to capture their experience and set music to the video.

This is the Place - There is nothing quite like the feeling of coming home. This is a song about finding a place of peace within and knowing that I am on the right track with my life.


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
January 12, 2019
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Tracks:
 
01. Top of the Mountains
02. Notes from Zion
03. Baby Faith
04. Kolob Canyon
05. Snow Canyon
06. The Living Planet
07. Ensign Peak
08. Flowing Waters
09. The Narrows
10. Finding Your Why
11. Angels Landing
12. This Is the Place

1/08/2019

Instrumental Piano Review: Renee Michele-The Space Within

Release Date: January 1, 2019
Label: Independent

I  think one of the best things about an artist recording their album in Will Ackerman’s Imaginary Road Studios is all the standout musicians involved. 
On Renee Michele’s The Space Within she is afforded the expert assistance of Ackerman and Tom Eaton. For the musical contributors, there is Eugene Friesen (cello), Jeff Oster (flugelhorn), Jill Haley (English horn), Charlie Bisharat (violin), and Eaton (bass) and Ackerman (guitar, Hopi drum) respectively.

That kind of position is like going from strength to strength, and one any instrumentalist would like to be in. Although Renee’s piano is standout, the mixture of the additional instruments just enhances the entire recording. Renee is not short on confidence mind you, you can get the album with just the piano tracks if you wish. That says it all for an artist in total control of her own destiny. Just the realization of seeing an artist so empowered gives me a chill. It is a beautiful thing, and believe me, it all comes flowing through like a river that knows exactly where it’s going.

I really appreciate the input Renee provides on the inside cover of the CD. What I found most amazing is how grounded and grateful she is for her creativity and an audience. When she describes the title track and how she could feel like the musician and the audience at the same time, now that is to me is very spiritual. Renee is so unassuming and driven just by the music, which is so refreshing to hear. The combination of an artist like Renee and all the guest musicians makes for a powerful recipe for success.

Each track holds an essential meaning to the artist as if she dug deep down into her soul and let only her innermost spirit and thoughts find a way to speak through her fingers into the ivory keys. I am in awe of that kind of talent and connection one person can have with a higher sense of being. I think it is something all people should strive for, in this case, I think the level is attained with a purpose.

The Space Within or the space you want to change can be arranged by listening to these tracks, all 10, like the commandments written in stone, the music gives you the opportunity to step forward and never look back. Music from an enlightened spirit like Renee Michelle will surely capture your attention.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
January 8, 2019

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. My Angel
02. In the Mist
03. The Space Within
04. Tabula Rasa
05. Aspire
06. Life As a Cloud
07. Montana Breeze
08. The Road Less Traveled
09. Trees of Vermont
10. Communion

 

12/19/2018

Instrumental Piano/New Age Review: Kurt Reiman-North Maple Road

Release Date: September 23, 2018
Label: Independent

Kurt Reiman is a self-made artist. He never had the patience to practice and read music so he listened to his favorite piano composers such as Frédéric Chopin, Billy Joel, Lyle Mays, George Winston, and Dave Brubeck. That is how he learned his craft. That kind of story really makes me think and wonder how someone can pick up how to play a song just by listening. It is a God-given gift that I simply cannot fathom but I sincerely appreciate it.

North Maple Road is the first recording released by Kurt. He is a working man just as are most indie recording artists. Not making enough money to sustain life, the indies are forced to work a day job so they can do what gives them passion. That daytime gig actually sustains the second career (in most cases). The dream, of course, is to remain working in that passion driven art form, whatever that may be. Alas, most of us do not find a way to that path but what keeps it all going is the hunger, the belief that you are actually contributing to the music-loving public and to the greater good of mankind.

Solo piano is beautiful, something that anyone can listen to at their leisure or for meditation or simply focus on one thing that needs more time and clarity. The music is the tool that carves out what we want, a time and place like North Maple Road, a fond memory, a reflection of life, or thoughts that make us smile from the inside out. It is all there waiting for us like an empty canvas waiting for those first strokes from our own personal paintbrush.

I am a New Englander and appreciate the mountains, the four seasons and the beauty that surrounds us. Just look at the cover of this CD, doesn’t it look pure and crystal clear? Don’t you wish you could think that way 24/7? That would be amazing but not realistic. Thankfully we have talented musicians like Kurt Reiman to help us down that path where we can see the light of day and feel hope. Music is so powerful and the simplicity of a piano and how Kurt makes it an extension of his soul and the physical body is a beautiful thing.

North Maple Road is twelve tracks with very meaningful titles. Kurt is a family man and you see it with the track names and feel the love and warmth in the music. He is grateful for everyone in his life and gives credit to his mentors. He knows he would not be at this point in life without all the people that have helped him. We are all the same, we just have a tendency to forget about all that and get on with our busy lives. This music creates a pause and pushes you gently to get in another space, look at the artwork on the cover of the album and think about the title of each song.

So, thank you, Kurt, for pushing me in the right direction and giving me the awareness of everything that your music means and stands for. There is so much inside this music and it is a fulfilling experience to know more about the person that created this work of art and appreciate where it all came from.
 
North Maple Road is an experience, not just another album to “listen” to.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 19, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. Sunrise over Narragansett Bay
02. You’re My Friend
03. Push Me Higher Daddy
04. Walk with Me
05. Together and Alone
06. North Maple Road
07. Live Your Dreams My Son
08. I Need to Say This
09. Evening Snowfall
10. By Your Side
11. Stars and Constellations
12. You’ll Always be Here with Me



12/14/2018

Instrumental Piano Review: Joseph Nimoh-Conversations On Piano

Release Date: October 15, 2018  
Label: Independent

Joseph Nimoh released his third proper album titled Conversations On Piano in October this year. I classified it generically as instrumental piano however it does have many elements that make it what it is. There is classical, contemporary instrumental, spiritual (gospel), new age and even some elements of jazz. So, it is a musical patchwork quilt if you will. Where I am coming from as a listener, this can mean diversity, colors, atmospheres, and tones that are variable in length as well as rhythm.

Joseph started playing piano at church when he was 11 years and from there went to the prestigious Berklee School of music to study piano performance. That alone is an indication of his abilities and the productive road ahead for this artist.

The twenty tracks contained on this recording are meant for relaxation, meditation and hopefully a spiritual renewal. I realize that twenty tracks may sound like a double album but several of the tracks are a bit over two minutes and only two are over four minutes. So not only are the different genres mixed in to make this album enjoyable and fresh, the time spent listening does not go on for too long. So, the opportunity to pause and shift your thoughts in this time and space cut out just for you, the appreciative listener, is afforded generously. Along those lines, I think people that listen to music like this seek it out, they know exactly what they are looking for.

Joseph Nimoh has created twenty tracks of piano bliss. It is a beautiful and enriching solitude that he presents to those who want to hear only instrumentals and no lyrics. This is the kind of format that allows complete focus and the separateness necessary to maintain that state of being. It is just what the doctor ordered, as the saying goes. That phrase is never truer than when you listen to Conversations On Piano. The title certainly suggests that the music will speak to you, I know it does for the artist. He is translating his love for the instrument and sharing his gift with everyone, which is a beautiful thing.

Conversations On Piano can be your personal journey to another realm, a chance to heal and moreover, just relax and listen and feel the warmth and purity of one man’s music gift to the world. Once again, my personal conviction of music being the universal healer to all humanity is solidified by another talented individual.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 14, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Anything For You
02. Beautiful Melody
03. Morning Dew
04. Conversations
05. Distant Land
06. Don't Be Discouraged
07. Happy Ending
08. His Plans Are Sure
09. Like Yesterday
10. Peaceful Melody
11. Silent Prayers
12. Solitude
13. Sunday Morning Pondering
14. Time For Change
15. Where We Are
16. Who's There
17. Not Alone
18. Searching For Answers
19. I am With You
20. Who Will Go
 

11/01/2018

Holiday-Instrumental-Classical Review: Andrew Colyer-Christmas Time-Piano Improvisations

Release Date: November 16, 2018
Label: Inner Nova Music

Well here it is almost Halloween and me, I am listening to a Christmas album! So why am I doing this right now instead of waiting until its closer to Thanksgiving? My answer to that is I knew it was going to be a different type of recording, an improvisational type of piano excursion with dissimilar influences peppered into the final recipe to make it more interesting and tastier.

For Andrew Colyer Christmas Time-Piano Improvisations is a big step away from Circuline, a progressive rock band he is part of. I covered the band’s Counterpoint album in 2016.

So, knowing this I was getting ready for a real treat. What Andrew decided to do was to record live off the floor. Everything is completely spontaneous without arrangements or refinements. That, by all means, is a big risk to take for any recording artists. All I can say is, this man has a lot of confidence in his abilities. Magically, all of this works out very well.

I really enjoy covering improvisational holiday music, particularly on solo piano. The inherent risks and difficulty level are very high. Most folks want to hear all the traditional holiday songs performed without any improvisation because it’s a yearly tradition. That is all fine with me but it is a wonderful thing to hear a piano player take all of his talents and create eleven tracks of holiday cheer with elements of jazz, classical, and new age all mixed in. It's like a musical hot toddy with some extra spice thrown in for some bite and to make sure you remember that last sip.

Andrew really appreciates George Winston, as do I. If you happen to be a musician by trade then you take that interest in George’s music to another level. He does that nicely with his ode to Charlie Brown on “Christmas Time is Here” (part 1 & part 2). He cleverly spreads the two tracks out from #3 to #9. Then of course track 8 is the obvious “Ode to George.”  Another well-done song that I am sure Mr. Winston would appreciate, in fact, I think he would enjoy this entire album.

It is great to see an artist not only step out from a musical comfort zone but to do it all without any plan or design of what to play. A free-form piano improvisation is more than just fine with me and I enjoyed every bit of it. This is solo piano music that can be appreciated any time of year actually. For this listener the timing was good, it is helping me get in the frame of mind that old man winter is right around the corner. I need to prepare myself mentally with a good attitude and be grateful for the four seasons and what they bring us. Thanks for Christmas Time-Piano Improvisations and the shot of positive energy Andrew!

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
October 30, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
01. Silent Night
02. Jingle Bells
03. Christmas Time is Here (part 1)  
04. Melancholy Holiday
05. Let It Snow in New Orleans  
06. A Night in Brooklyn
07. We 3 Kings...in 5
08. Ode to George
09. Christmas Time is Here (part 2)
10. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
11. Hawaiian Healing Meditation [Ho'Oponopono]

 

6/14/2018

Instrumental Piano Review: Edo Sanz-Self-Titled

Release Date: April 1, 2018
Label: Independent

I have covered a lot of new age music. That is putting it in its simplest terms. There is more to it of course and that is how I am able and willing to cover one piano based instrumental album after another.  That thought brings me to the latest release by Edo Sanz, a self-titled instrumental montage covering 13 tracks.

I can dub this as instrumental piano music but it is much more than that. I heard classical, new age and so many paces and rhythmic changes that this listen kept me engrossed throughout.

Edo is a very talented artist, I stress the term artist. Each track is an artistic impression set to music. It makes you look at the title, the meaning and how the music can fit that description. Instrumental music has a way of becoming more cerebral than a track with vocals added. At least that is how it works for me.

The opening track “The Alien's Dream” is a profound statement. It brought me images of a ballerina or hundreds of butterflies flitting around in an open field. These images are tucked away in our subconsciousness just waiting for something to coax them out and bring them to life. Good instrumental music accomplishes that.

The most intriguing tracks for me where “Muñeca de Trapo” (Rag Doll) and “Per l'acqua” (For Water). I immediately want to find a translation and then see how it can relate to the track. I take it on as another artistic and cultural aspect in music yet to be discovered. Every musical genre has a culture attached to it, and this music is no exception.

I applaud artists like Edo Sanz for putting himself out there offering an entire album of just him and his piano. It takes confidence, the willingness to take the risk and most importantly, pure talent. This is the kind of talent that one is blessed with upon their first breath and continues to blossom with each passing year. 

This self-titled piano excursion is diverse and filled with many colors, moods, and atmospheres. You have my promise it will keep you entertained from start to finish.

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
June 13, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews



;auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&show_teaser=true&visual=true" width="100%">

4/30/2018

Instrumental Piano Review: Peter Calandra-Piano Improvisations Vol. 1

Release Date: April 27, 2018
Label: PCM

Peter Calandra has new digital-only release titled Piano Improvisations Vol.1. This will be his first release in 2018 with another one forthcoming later in the year.

Peter is well known for his solo piano works and I have become very familiar with his recorded output as well.  I had the pleasure of covering First Light, The Road Home and Inner Circle. He is also known for his soundtrack work.

Piano Improvisations Vol. 1 is comprised of fourteen instrumental piano tracks. Peter is a very ambitious recording artist and because of that creative energy, he is able to keep a constant flow of music on the market. I find that kind of consistency is refreshing. I have a lot of respect for musicians that are constantly busy with one project or another. I can understand why many are like that. To keep those creative juices flowing you need to be actively using the talents or things will get stale and then you would feel a disconnect with your process. I think I can relate that kind of mindset.

Improvisation is defined as such:  By something that is improvised, especially a piece of music, drama, etc., created without preparation. So, to create music without preparation would demand a tremendous insight into your chosen instrument. With that in mind, it would also require an incredible talent to start playing with a flow and sense of direction, and one that makes sense and is pleasing to a listener.

Peter has an innate sense of tone and rhythm in his offerings. I think this is something people are born with then it develops more when they explore their god given blessing. This thought hit me square between eyes while listening to “A 21st Century Monk.” That track is a progressive jazz infused listen that any Miles Davis or John Coltrane fan would appreciate. I count myself amongst the many that appreciate the founding fathers of progressive jazz. Even though it is different as a stand-alone track, and every one is, it is done with a touch of class. The artist starts off the track slowly, gradually introducing the improvisations to the listener. Rather hitting someone all at once with music off the beaten path as it were, this musician takes the intelligent path presenting his music.

The most entertaining and interesting aspect of Piano Improvisations Vol. 1 is that you are not anticipating any sort of style or trend. This is improvisation at its unpredictable best. I think this a strong release for Peter and it will engage his audience from start to finish leaving them wanting for more. Keep in mind this is only Volume 1 so more is likely to follow at some point, which keeps things exciting and interesting for the creator and listeners. This is an easy 5/5 stars because it is all solo piano creations at the highest level of difficulty. Bravo and a tip of the cap to Mr. Calandra for a job well, done!

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
 
April 30, 2018

Founder of:

Review Provided MuzikMan Reviews & News

Tracks:

01. Carry the Torch
02. Two Days
03. Dreamland   
04. Distant Memory       
05. Summer Morn   
06. Mystery Night   
07. Enchanted Forest   
08. Often Minor   
09. Tonester
10. A 21st Century Monk   
11. Summer Rain
12. Off in the Distance
13. The Second Wave   
14.Blueish

 

Ads Inside Post