Holiday Review: Elvis Presley-Christmas with Elvis and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Release Date: October 6, 2017
Label: Sony

Elvis Presley is the top-selling solo artist of all time, having sold more than one billion records worldwide put him on top of the mountain with a very select group.  Elvis' previous Christmas releases have sold more than 22 million copies in the United States alone. That is a fact people! 

This is a great way for me to wrap up my Holiday season with a review of an Elvis Christmas album. Last season I enjoyed the colored vinyl edition of Merry Christmas Baby.

So here we go again with another new and old classic titled Christmas with Elvis and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. This music was already a great group of songs but now Elvis is backed by a full orchestra, and one of the finest in the world. I just wish the man was alive to witness the technological marvels we have now at our disposal.

This recording is incredible and it fills your room wherever ever you decide to listen. It takes music from Presley’s yuletide performances from Elvis’ Christmas Album (1957) and Elvis Sings the Wonderful World of Christmas (1971). It is like taking every song and reworking them to perfection with a beautiful orchestra in step with The King as he sings some of his fan favorites.

It’s interesting how I just go through watching It’s a Wonderful Life (1946) with Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed (believe it or not for the first time!). My emotions caught up with as we moved towards the end of the movie. Now I am sitting here listening to probably the greatest rock ‘n’ roll phenomena the world has ever known. Every time I hear Elvis’s music I appreciate it more. This music moved me just as the movie did.

This was a great idea that worked very well. The final touch was Priscilla reminiscing about Christmas with Elvis in the CD booklet.

My favorites remain “Blue Christmas” and “Merry Christmas Baby.” I really appreciated how the orchestra blended so well with all the tracks. If they are in a traditional sense or with touch of blues, it all sounds great. 

Christmas with Elvis and The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra is one you should not miss this. There is also a deluxe version with more tracks available, look for the copy with the red cover. Either way you win if you are an Elvis fan and appreciate the full-bodied sound the music has from start to finish.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 17, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

01. Santa Claus Is Back In Town
02. White Christmas
03. Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)
04. Merry Christmas Baby
05. Blue Christmas
06. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
07. Winter Wonderland
08. Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me)
09. Silver Bells
10. Oh Little Town Of Bethlehem
11. O Come, All Ye Faithful
12. The First Noel
13. Silent Night


No comments:

Post a Comment

Ads Inside Post